CSU–Pueblo Announces 2007 ASG Election Results

The results from the 2007 Associated Students’ Government (ASG) elections at Colorado State University – Pueblo that were held March 20 and 21 were announced last week.

ASG is a student-run government entity that promotes student affairs on campus and in the state, through student body member representatives. ASG members work with departments on campus to accomplish student life events and community projects.

Next year’s ASG President is Erica Contreras, a junior (Firestone) biology major. Elected as Vice President is Amanda Cristelli, a junior (Canon City) political science major.

Luke Groninger, a junior (Pueblo) political science major, was elected Vice President for Legislative Affairs. Leighann Hardwick, a junior (Arvada) exercise science, health promotion, and recreation major, will fill the Senator-At-Large position, serving as Pro Tem of the Senate.

Shawna Perroni, a freshman (Salem, Mass.) majoring in exercise science, health promotion, and recreation, will serve as Senator of Recreational Affairs, while Allison Burk, a junior (Monte Vista) mass communications major, will serve as the Senator of Student Activities. Elected Senator of Greek Life is freshman (Thornton) pre-business major Justin Menu, and elected Senator of Clubs and Organizations Funding Policies and Procedures is Steven Titus, a freshman (Colorado Springs) political major.

Elected Senator of Housing is Meenambika Gowrishankar, a freshman (Manama, Bahrain) biology major, and elected to the Senator of Student Empowerment is Jenna Rossow, a freshman (Erie) mass communications major.

Nathan Duncan, a junior (Coal Creek) pre-engineering major, will fill one of the two Senate seats for the College of Education, Engineering, and Professional Studies. The second position remains vacant at this time.

Senators representing the College of Science and Mathematics are Lindsey Schmidt, a senior (Colorado Springs) biology major, and Kayleigh Zerr, a senior (Pueblo) biology major.

Mario Wendorf, a junior (Pueblo) art major, and Julio Martinez, a junior (Pueblo) English major, will serve as Senators representing the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Filling the two Senator seats representing the Hasan School of Business are Jane Schifferdecker, a junior (Pueblo) business management major, and Jessica Sanchez, a junior (Springfield) pre-business major.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.