CSU–Pueblo names 2008-09 President Leadership Program Class

Seventeen students have been named to the President’s Leadership Program (PLP) at Colorado State University – Pueblo. The students were selected by a committee of campus and community board members and students from the PLP program. PLP students receive $2,000 per year for up to four years and earn a minor in leadership studies.

Currently in its eighth year, the PLP program is one of 10 schools to participate in the Colorado Leadership Alliance, a consortium of comprehensive leadership education programs at undergraduate institutions across Colorado. Through shared resources and collaborative efforts, CLA’s focus is to develop the next generation of Colorado's leaders. PLP develops and trains emerging leaders at CSU-Pueblo through a four – year academic leadership program focused on academic and experiential learning. Scholars are given opportunities to obtain leadership experience through mentoring, internships, etiquette training, and presentations by leaders in various fields from government and education to the service sectors.
Eligible candidates are graduating high school seniors who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher and who display leadership potential, intellectual curiosity, and a commitment to something outside one’s self. PLP challenges participants to identify and engage in leadership issues facing Southern Colorado. Participants must retain no less than a 3.0 grade point average at CSU-Pueblo to maintain eligibility status.

The following students are members of the 2008-09 PLP freshman class:

Nichole Beaudin                                    Pueblo West High School

Victoria Bonetto-Fernandez                   Pueblo Centennial High School
Steven Cassidy                                      Pueblo West High School

Kolbie Connally                         Pueblo County High School

Jacob Eunice                                         Dolores Huerta Preparatory High School

Kelsey Goettel                                      Pueblo West High School

Justina Gonzalez                                    Pueblo West High School

Nicole Kirby                                         Pueblo West High School

Daniel Lyons                                         Pueblo Centennial High School

Lindsay Reeves                                     Pueblo West High School

Keely Severance                                   Pueblo East High School

Ashley Silva                                          Pueblo West High School

Colorado Springs
Patrick Dahmen                        Hanover Junior/Senior High School

Dakota Deutsch                        Widefield High School

La Junta
Mitchel Mueller                        Swink High School

Rocky Ford
Colin Scott                               Rocky Ford High School

Leslie Trotter                            Swink High School

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.